Quaker Sacraments

It seems as though a general theme is occurring in the lives of a few Quaker folk. After reading Gregg Koskella’s blog this morning about the theme of his sermon this week, and this blog about new definitions of “church,” I thought I would share a bit of my own sacramental adventures in a non-Quaker church. Erin and I have been living in the Boston area for nearly 7 years now, and for the past 3 years we have been regularly attending a Christ-centered Episcopal church. I grew up Quaker, Erin Episcopalian…

Obviously, the view of physical sacraments in the Episcopal church is very high. In fact, it is so high that there is a sense of, though it is not actually articulated, salvific qualities inherent in the exercising of the Eucharist and baptism. A few weeks, at the unexpected prompting of a friend, I found myself in a conversation with one of our priests about whether or not I had been baptized with water. When he found out I had not been, he was very gracious in hearing and learning more about my sacramental view of life, but he ended the conversation by suggesting he would sneak up on me sometime and douse me with water. I told him he could certainly do so if he truly felt it was necessary. Needless to say, I will probably bring an umbrella to church for the next few weeks. I say all this to emphasize the great place I feel the Quaker church is in right now. Within a postmodern framework, the Quaker church has much to say to those looking for a faith community – and sacramental theology is one of those areas that will resonate with the new generation of church-goers – a group that has already been labeled religious but lacking commitment to a local church. May the conversation continue to stretch us as we seek Christ in all we do.

1 comment so far

  1. Gregg Koskela on

    Jamie, great stuff! Thanks! I’m glad you’ve added to the conversation.


Leave a Reply

